Three AAHMS Fellows elected to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

We are delighted to congratulate three AAHMS Fellows elected today as Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA): 

Professor Sandra Eades FASSA FAHMS, Professor and Dean of Curtin Medical School, Curtin University, a medical epidemiologist who was the first Aboriginal medical practitioner to be awarded a Doctorate of Philosophy. She is an expert in Indigenous child and adolescent health, Indigenous tobacco use and randomised controlled trials in Indigenous health, whose work has improved the lives of Aboriginal women and children.

Professor Alan Lopez AC FASSA FAHMS, Melbourne Laureate Professor and Rowden-White Chair of Global Health and Burden of Disease Measurement, Global Burden of Disease Group, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, The University of Melbourne. Professor Lopez’s contributions have had a major impact on health policy debates in Australia and worldwide. His seminal and continuing work on the Global Burden of Disease Study with Chris Murray is used by governments and by WHO to prioritise major disease control programs. 

Professor Sarah Wilson FASSA FAHMS, Professor and Head of School, Melbourne School of Psychological Sciences, The University of Melbourne, an expert in Cognitive Neuroscience and Clinical Neuropsychology whose research program has advanced our understanding of how the human brain underpins our thinking and behavior. She has pioneered music brain research in Australia, showing how music can enhance brain function in healthy individuals, and help recovery after brain injury. 

We warmly congratulate all three Fellows on this tremendous achievement. 

Read more on the ASSA website.

Share this post


Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.