Academy launches Medal for Outstanding Female Researcher

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences is delighted to launch its second honorific award, the AAHMS Medal for Outstanding Female Researcher.

The Medal will be awarded annually to a female researcher for one or more seminal discoveries in the health and medical sciences, primarily working in Australia.

Nominations are welcome from all fields associated with furthering biomedical and health research, whether clinical or basic biomedical research. Nominees do not need to be a Fellow of the Academy. The recipient will be a researcher who identifies as female who has made one or more seminal discoveries and has thus become a leading name in the Australian health and medical sciences.

The recipient must be an Australian resident at the time of nomination and the majority of their research must have been conducted in or led from Australia (i.e. more than 50%).

I am absolutely delighted that the Academy is launching this new Medal. We are committed to advancing diversity and inclusion in the health and medical sciences. We have been working hard to ensure that, as a Learned Academy, we represent the full diversity of the community in which we work. Over the past two years, for instance, 47% of our newly elected Ordinary Fellows have been women. This new Medal will provide a further mechanism through which the Academy celebrates and recognises the important achievements of female researchers in health and medicine. I greatly look forward to awarding the inaugural medal next year

Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO FRS FAA PresAHMS
President, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

Nominations are now open and all paperwork must be received by 1 March 2021. For more information on this award and how to nominate, please visit our Medal for Outstanding Female Researcher program page. The inaugural Medal will be awarded at the Academy’s annual meeting in October 2021.

The Medal for Outstanding Female Researcher has been made possible by a generous donation from The Gandevia Foundation, for which the Academy is most grateful. The Medal has been designed by the Royal Australian Mint.

Share this post


Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.