Professor Sharon Lewin – AAHMS Outstanding Female Researcher 2022

Infectious disease physician and virologist Professor Sharon Lewin AO FAHMS is the 2022 recipient of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences Medal for Outstanding Female Researcher.

Professor Lewin is Director of The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity and President of the International AIDS Society. She is also a Professor of Medicine at the University of Melbourne, an NHMRC Practitioner Fellow and an AAHMS Fellow.

She was recognised by AAHMS for her body of research and global leadership in the search for a cure to human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), as well as her contribution to the COVID-19 pandemic response. Read more:

Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.