The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences elects the best and brightest minds in the field of medical and health sciences as Fellows.

Fellows are elected in recognition of their outstanding achievements and exceptional contributions to the sector. The Fellowship are acknowledged for their clinical, non-clinical, leadership, industry and research contributions.

About Fellowship with AAHMS

Find Fellows of the AAHMS

To find Fellows of our Academy either use the search form below or download the full list of current Fellows here.






Co-Director, Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing (CHeBA)
UNSW Sydney

Professor Brodaty understands health and medical research from the inside, the consumer view, and the big picture (as member of 2013 McKeon Review). He founded and led old age psychiatry in Australia and internationally. Academically he is pre-eminent: in psychogeriatrics as Australia’s most published researcher; in dementia among the top researchers in Australia and internationally (with translational and clinical emphases). His outstanding community involvement includes president/chair previously of Alzheimer’s Disease International, Alzheimer’s Australia, Alzheimer’s NSW and now International Psychogeriatric Association and NHMRC KT Dementia Committee; and 30 years membership of state and federal committees advancing mental health of older people.

Alfred Deakin Professor of Psychiatry, Deakin University and Barwon Health; Director, Institute for Mental and Physical Health and Clinical Translation (IMPACT)
Deakin University

Michael Berk’s primary career focus is a novel therapy discovery program. His earlier work repurposed existing medications for novel indications, but more recently he has been developing therapies targeting novel mechanisms of action. The significance of this can be seen in the broader context. Not only are these entirely new therapies for psychiatric disorders, but by extension, they cement our understanding of the role of these mechanisms, principally oxidative and inflammatory pathways in the pathogenesis of these disorders. This understanding opens leads to other agents working on related pathways being discovered. As agents under study are largely already available, off patent and cheap, barriers to implementation and translation are minimal, facilitating clinical utilisation. Importantly, findings from most of the highlighted studies appear in leading global treatment guidelines, impacting treatment worldwide.

former Chief Medical Officer
Department of Health

Professor Chris Baggoley is Chief Medical Officer for the Australian Government and is the principal medical adviser to the Minister and the Department of Health. He also holds direct responsibility for the Department of Health’s Office of Health Protection.
Prior to his appointment Professor Baggoley was the Chief Executive of the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. He was a former Chief Medical Officer with the South Australian Department of Health. His clinical career has been in emergency medicine.
Professor Baggoley was the President of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine, Chair of the national Committee of Presidents of Medical Colleges and Chair of the Board of the National Institute of Clinical Studies and his previous medical positions include Professor-Director of Emergency Medicine at the University of Adelaide and Royal Adelaide Hospital; Director of Emergency Medicine at Flinders Medical Centre; the inaugural Director of Emergency Services at the Ashford Community Hospital.
In addition to his Flinders University Degree in Medicine, Professor Baggoley holds a Flinders University Bachelor in Social Administration and an Honours degree in Veterinary Science from the University of Melbourne. In the Queen’s Birthday honours for 2013, Professor Baggoley was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).

Joint Head, Cancer and Haematology Division
The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Professor Warren Alexander is a distinguished leader in Australian health and medical research. His highly productive original research has made profound, enduring and internationally recognised new discoveries in molecular haematology. His experimental approach is notable for its innovation and multi-disciplinary basis. His research has not only had exceptional scientific impact, but has also inspired the research of others and contributed to the practical translation of Australian health and medical research. Professor Alexander has demonstrated strong leadership most notably in underpinning Australian health and medical research with high level contributions to research policy and peer review.

Our Fellows sit at the heart of everything we do. They represent Australia’s leading minds in health and medical sciences, having been recognised for their clinical, non-clinical, leadership, industry and research contributions.

To be considered for election to the Academy’s Fellowship, a candidate must show exceptional professional achievement in a field related to health and/or medicine.

Fellows contribute to the projects and activities of the Academy and must be willing to be active participants.

Successful Fellowship candidates will have shown:

  • Outstanding leadership in their field.
  • Significant and ongoing involvement with issues of health care, prevention of disease, education, research, and health services policy and delivery.

Candidates for Fellowship should meet the following criteria:

  • National and International recognition for excellence in health and medical science
  • Significant, sustained and ongoing contributions to advance health and medical science in Australia (relative to opportunity)
  • Contribution to the profession through leadership and mentorship
  • Raised public understanding and promoting health and medical science in the broader community

Download criteria for Fellowship

Each year, current Fellows of the Academy are invited to nominate up to four new candidates who meet the criteria and fulfil the required expectations.

Nominations by a Fellow of two new candidates must ensure that at least one nomination is a woman. Nominations by a Fellow of four new candidates must ensure that at least two nominations are women.

How to make a nomination

Fellows wishing to nominate a candidate for Fellowship should contact the secretariat to confirm candidate eligibility and receive and instructions on how to submit the completed nomination documentation online. 

Fellows wishing to nominate a candidate for a Corresponding Fellowship should contact the secretariat for more information.

Secretariat contact details
Email: [email protected]

Phone: 07 3102 7220

Nomination guidelines for ordinary Fellowship

October 2023
Newly elected Fellows of 2023 are inducted at the Annual Meeting.

18 September 2023- 30 November 2023
Nominations are invited from existing Fellows until the closing date of 30 November.

December 2023
Nominations allocated to Selection Committees.

January – April 2024
Referees’ reports sought.

Early May 2024
Selection Committees meet to consider nominations and provide final recommendations to the Council.

Early-to-mid-July 2024
Council meets to finalise recommendations.

Late July 2024
Full Fellowship invited to comment on recommended new fellows.

August 2024
Election results are shared with proposers and candidates (under embargo).

October 2024
Newly elected Fellows of 2024 inducted at the Annual Meeting.

Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.