December 2023 newsletter

A message from our President

I write to you with our last AAHMS news of 2023. This year was a significant one for the Academy – we announced a new award honouring First Nations researchers, relaunched our Life as a Clinician-Scientist program with great success, welcomed our 100th mentee, and saw our policy work continue to have impact on the nation’s healthcare systems. The Academy’s work is a reflection of the hard work, expertise, and commitment of its Fellows, and I’m immensely proud of all we have achieved this year. You can see some of the highlights from the past 12 months on our website – this article summarises some of our larger pieces of work. It’s an excellent overview of a very busy year, and a great way of celebrating all we’ve achieved together. I encourage you to take a look. You can also visit our news page to see all the significant work completed in 2023.

One of our major events was the 2023 Annual Meeting: Driving health equity. For those of you who were unable to join us in person, videos from each session are now available online in our video library. Whether you were able to attend, or couldn’t make it this year, we’d value your feedback for future events. You can contribute by completing a survey here or email our Events Manager Leila Hutton at [email protected]. Next year’s annual meeting will be held in Adelaide and will mark 10 years of the Academy. I do hope to see lots of you there so that we can celebrate everything we’ve achieved together over the past decade and look ahead to how the Academy can be a force for good into the future. Mark the dates in your calendar now: 24-25 October. Further details to follow in the new year.

Finally, I wish you safe, restful, and happy holidays with your loved ones. It’s been a pleasure working alongside you this year, and I look forward to all we will achieve in 2024.


Best wishes,

Professor Louise Baur AM PresAHMS

AAHMS Annual Meeting Survey

Did you join us at our Annual Meeting in October? We would welcome your thoughts and feedback on the event. The survey is anonymous and information will be used to improve future events. Find the survey online here.


Professors Richard Scolyer and Georgina Long were named the joint NSW Australians of the Year.

Professor Helen Marshall was named the SA Scientist of the Year at the SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards.

Professor Michelle Haber was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award at CEO Magazine’s Executive of the Year Awards in Sydney.

Professor Mark Dawson received the Paul Marks Prize for Cancer Research.

Fellows in the news

Professor Laura Mackay’s breakthrough immunotherapy research was covered across several media outlets. Read the original media release on the Doherty news site.

Professors Richard Scolyer and Georgina Long were profiled on Australian Story.

Professor Sharon Lewin co-authored a piece for COSMOS on the science contributing to a HIV cure.

Professor Andrew Whitehouse will guide a review of the WA government’s School Education Act 1999 to better serve and safeguard students with disability.

Professor Stephen Duckett authored a piece for The Conversation on the National Health Reform Agreement. He also wrote a piece on how Australia’s healthcare system compared internationally

Professor Brendan Crabb co-authored a piece on the effect of antivirals on long COVID for The Conversation.

Share this post


Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.