Academy elects new State Branch Chairs

The Academy is delighted to announce the election of two new State Branch Chairs, who assume their new roles today, Monday 4 March 2019.

In our NSW/ACT Branch, Professor Tony Cunningham AO FAHMS is the new Chair, replacing Professor Maree Teesson AC FAHMS FASSA.

In our SA/NT Branch, Professor Maria Makrides FAHMS becomes Chair, in place of Professor David Watson FAHMS.

Professor Cunningham and Professor Makrides both become members of the Academy’s Council, with their terms lasting three years each.

The Academy thanks Professor Teesson and Professor Watson for their generous service to the Academy during their time as State Branch Chairs.

Further information

According to the Academy’s By-Laws, any state or territory with more than 10 Fellows may establish a state branch and elect a Chair, who becomes a member of Council.

This election leaves the Academy’s Council at 20 members in total – of which 10 are women and 10 are men. Further information on the Academy’s Board and Council is available on the Governance page of our website.

Share this post


Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.