Second Scientific Meeting & Induction of New Fellows

The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS) held its second Annual Scientific Meeting at Translational Research Institute in Brisbane today.  The meeting theme, “Bench to Bed and Back Again” reflects the needs to ‘join up’ the wide range of disciplines involved in health and medical research in Australia. Better health care can be delivered by a closer integration between research, education and clinical care. Australia has a strong track record in biomedical research, and outstanding clinical care – however we appreciate that linkages between the ‘bench’ and the ‘bedside’ are suboptimal. This was recognized by the McKeon review, and by the National Health and Medical Research Council. Australia is currently laying the foundation for greater integration between clinical and research settings. Also in response to the McKeon review, the Commonwealth Government created the Medical Research Future Fund. The new funding body will support the translation of medical research into new or better ways of improving the health and wellbeing of Australians. Academy Fellows from around the country assembled to hear the latest on the application of research with international speaker Sir John Tooke, Executive Chairman of Academic Health Solutions, UK.

The Academy also announced the induction of 50 new Fellows through ordinary election, bringing the total Fellowship to 272.  New Fellows are drawn from all states and territories of Australia, and from all aspects of health and medical science across clinical practice and allied health care, with representation from basic translational and clinical research, health economics, general practice and public health.

Professor Frazer, President of the Academy, said:

“I am delighted on behalf of the Academy council to welcome the new Fellows to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences this evening.  Their election as Fellows of the Academy will help to ensure that the Academy can promote use of the best in research-informed health care for all Australians.”

Professor John McGrath, Chair of AAHMS Queensland State Branch and Director, Queensland Centre for Mental Health Research, University of Queensland, joined Professor Frazer in congratulating the new Fellows, adding that we look forward to meeting them over the two-day meetings. “The new Fellows bring great skills and experience to our Academy – the depth of talent in the Australian health and medical research community is truly inspirational. “

The meeting on Day 2, “The Medical Research Future Fund – Great expectations and sober realities: Will the MRFF help link bench and bedside?” is open to the public and will feature Professor Ian Frazer, AAHMS President and Chair, AMRAB, the MRFF Advisory Board; Professor Steve Wesselingh, SAHMRI, South Australia; Professor Anthony Cunningham, The University of Sydney; and Professor Robyn Ward, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Queensland; Professor John Shine, Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Sydney; Professor Robert Ramsay, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Victoria and; Professor Michael Berk, Deakin University, Victoria.

Download a list of new Fellows and their affiliated organisations here.

For further information, please contact:

AAHMS Support on: [email protected] or phone 0400 428 224.

Share this post


Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.