AAHMS Fellow elected to ATSE

Indigenous health leader and Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences Fellow Professor Sandra Eades AO has been elected as an Honorary Fellow to the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE).

Professor Eades’ outstanding contributions to public health and science have seen her named a Fellow of three Learned Academies: AAHMS, the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and now ATSE.

We warmly congratulate Professor Eades on this significant achievement.

Read her citation on election ATSE below, and learn more about their 2023 Fellows on their website.


Sandra Eades is a leading Indigenous health leader and Noongar woman with family from the Minang and Goreng mobs from Western Australia. Through Sandra’s research and appointments, she has greatly contributed to the epidemiology of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children’s health in Australia.

A true trailblazer, she was Australia’s first Aboriginal medical doctor to be awarded a PhD in 2003. She was also the first Indigenous Dean of a medical school, appointed as Dean of Curtin Medical School in 2020.

Sandra is a leading education professional who remains at the forefront of research and education on children, adolescents, and community to better the lives of Aboriginal people.

Share this post


Keep up to date with the latest news

By providing your email address, you consent to it being added to our mailing list.