Learn more about the inspiring careers of clinician scientists at our 2021 Life as a Clinician-Scientist Victorian event. This one-day symposium for biomedical, medical and clinical students, junior doctors, clinical trainees, and PhD/honours students focuses on the intersection between clinical medicine and science.

The in-person and online event will feature experienced clinician-scientists from several institutes and universities. If you’re curious about maximising the impact of research discoveries to benefit healthcare, this event is the place to find out more.

Registrations are now open and includes morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. We look forward to announcing key-note speakers and sharing more detail with you closer to the date.


  • Professor Kathryn North AO FAHMS, Director, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, David Danks Professor of Child Health Research at The University of Melbourne,  paediatric neurologist
  • Professor Stephen O’Leary FAHMS, ENT surgeon, William Gibson Chair In Otolaryngology, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Rachelle Buchbinder AO FAHMS, rheumatologist, Monash University & Cabrini Health
  • Professor Alex Hewitt, ophthalmologist, University of Tasmania
  • Professor Eric Morand, Head of the School of Clinical Sciences, Monash University
  • Associate Professor Margie Danchin, paediatrician and Group Leader Vaccine Uptake, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
  • Professor Allen Cheng, infectious diseases physician, Monash University
  • Professor Piero Perucca, neurologist, University of Melbourne and Austin Health


  • Mr Dan Croagh, hepatobiliary and pancreatic surgeon
  • Associate Professor Jake Shortt, haematologist
  • Dr Jessica Howell, gastroenterologist 
  • Dr Penelope Bryant, paediatric infectious disease physician and general paediatrician

Learn more about Life as a Clinician-Scientist events by reading a recap of our recent Queensland event, or visiting the program page.

Watch videos of speakers at our previous events, including presentations from our President Professor Ingrid Scheffer, and cervical cancer vaccine co-inventor Professor Ian Frazer

A flyer advertising the event