The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences is the impartial, authoritative, cross-sector voice of health and medical science in Australia.

At the heart of our work are our Fellows – an independent, interdisciplinary body of scientists and innovators, elected by their peers for their outstanding achievements and exceptional contributions to health and medical science in Australia. Drawn from universities, medical research institutes, health services, industry, charities and the public service, AAHMS now has 451 Fellows located in all of Australia’s States and Territories.

The diversity of talent and expertise among these Fellows generates a representative and authoritative voice that spans the breadth of translational biomedical and clinical research in Australia – and through which we engage with the community, industry and governments.

The Academy is therefore uniquely positioned to convene cross-sector stakeholders from across Australia to address the most pressing health challenges facing society.

In 2020, the Academy was formally recognised by the Federal Government as a national Learned Academy. You can learn more about the first five years of the Academy, and the achievements that led to this outcome, in our publication 2014-2020: Celebrating the formative years of the Academy”You can also read more about the Academy’s goals in a Medical Journal of Australia article, co-authored by President Professor Ingrid Scheffer and Inaugural President Professor Ian Frazer.



To advance health and medical research in Australia and its translation into benefits for all, by fostering leadership within our sector, providing expert advice to decision makers, and engaging patients and the public

Our objectives

Council and Patron

  • Executive (part of Council)

    Seven Executive Officers provide strategic guidance to the Academy

  • Council

    The Academy is governed by a Council of 20 elected Fellows

  • Patron

    Pre-eminent scientist, Sir Gustav Nossal

Find Out More